Agriculture Corner

Horticultural Classification of Vegetables in Agriculture (Part 1)


In agriculture sciences, there exists a proper system of classification for vegetables. The reason is to understand, study and deal with each vegetable according to its peculiar requirements. This article will discuss the horticultural classification of vegetables in agriculture.

In general, vegetable are classified into 4 classes based on;

  1. Botanical features
  2. Life cycle
  3. Adaptation
  4. Edible or Economic Part

Vegetable Classification Based on Botanical Features

In this class, vegetables are grouped together in such a way that exhibits common features and characteristics. Based on botanical features, vegetables are further divided into 3 sub-classes.

Solanaceous Vegetables or Solanaceous Plants: Solanaceous vegetables belong to the major group known as Angiosperms while they are related to the family Solanaceae. The word Solanaceae is derived from the genus Solanum which means “the nightshade plants’. Solanaceous vegetables include Tomato, Solanum, Egg Plant, Okra, Goji Berries, Sorrel etc.

Vine Vegetables or Vines: Vine vegetables have peculiar characteristics of a stem system that needs support to climb. If physical support is not available, then the Vine vegetables start to grow on the ground. In agriculture, Vine vegetables are also known as ‘climbing vegetables’. Interestingly, if no support is provided to stems, and other plants are present nearby, they start to crawl on these plants. Well known examples of Vine vegetables are Cucumber, Pumpkin, Summer Squash, Tomatoes, Beans etc.

Cole Vegetables or Cole Crops: In agriculture, the vegetables that belong to the mustard family are referred to as Cole crops. They are also termed as Cruciferous vegetables. Examples of Cole Vegetables include Brussels sprouts, Kale, cabbage, cauliflower, Kohlrabi etc.

Continue to Next PageArid | Agriculture