page contents
Agronomic Classification of Crops in Agriculture
Agronomic Classification of Crops in Agriculture

Classification of Crop Plants in Agriculture: Agronomic Classification

4 Root Crops

These are the crops that are grown to obtain their enlarged edible storage root to consume as food. These crops are cool-seasoned crops and hardy. These have long storage life. Interestingly, many of the crops in this agriculture crop group are unrelated to each other and belong to different families however, these crops share alike cultural requirements. Important crops in this group include Carrots, Turnip, Sugar Beet, Sweet Potatoes, Cassava, Beet Root etc.

5 Fiber Crops

Fiber crops are the crops that are grown for commercial purpose. These crops are rich in fibrous materials. Fiber crops are the input source for manufacturing textiles, rope, linen and paper products. The fibers are extracted from various parts of plants. Important fiber crop include Cotton, Hemp, Jute, Flax etc.

6 Tuber Crops

Tuber crops are those crops that have an enlarged nutrient storage organ. Technically, these organs are the source of energy for the plant to sustain in dry, harsh or cold weather and provide energy for regrowth in the next season. Renowned tuber crops include the Potatoes and Yam.  

7 Sugar Crops

Sugar crops are those crops that are rich in sugar substance. These are the natural source of sugars. Sugar is extracted from various parts of the plant including, roots, tubers and stems. Important cash crops belong to this group of agriculture crops. Good examples of sugar crops include Sugarcane, Sugar Beet, Sugar Maple, Palms, Dahlia, Sweet Sorghum etc.

Continue to Next Page

Introduction There are hundreds of crops grown in agriculture sector. These crops are grouped together or more precisely classified into various categories based on agronomic classification, seasonal classification special purpose classification etc. The purpose of these classifications is to learn about the agriculture crops more deeply and accurately to judge their characteristics so that best agronomic practices can be applied to get maximum production and yield. In this article, you will find the classification of crop plants in agriculture based on agronomic classification. In agronomic classification, crops are divided into 10 categories. A brief about each category is given below…

Review Overview

User Rating: 2.83 ( 5 votes)

About Abdul Rahman

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Check Also

What is Ecology? | Arid Agriculture

What is Ecology?

Introduction Ecology is a common word that we come across in daily life in reference to many aspects generally but specifically from environment perspective. In general, it is a word that roots from Greek origin. The Greek word “olkos” means the “house” where “logy” means “The Science of” or precisely ...

Natural Soil Profiles | Arid Agriculture

Natural Soil Profile

Introduction to Natural Soil Profile Natural soil profile means the layers of soil that have been made or accumulated naturally and without any intervention of human being. To make it clearer, let us examine what is soil profile? You might have seen during excavation of land by a bulldozer or ...

Facing Difficulty in Assignments and Thesis
Feel Free to Visit  Below Link for More Information
  • Assistance in proof reading of articles, manuscripts/research papers;
  • Assistance in assignments/projects of agriculture domain;
  • Assistance in masters and doctoral dissertation;
  • Assistance in data analysis of agriculture and social science domain   using software like SPSS, STATA, EVIEWS;
  • Assistance in Kitchen  gardening guidance and,
  • Career counseling
error: Contact Abdul Rahman for more help and PDF format of this article at